Album Review – Elvenking – The Pagan Manifesto

So this is my first album review =D I hope you enjoy it. I am going to try to do this every time a band I like releases a new album. Artist: Elvenking

Album: The Pagan Manifesto

Genre: Folk Metal

Released: 9th May 2014


Track listing:

01. The Manifesto

02. King Of The Elves

03. Elvenlegions

04. The Druid Ritual Of Oak

05. Moonbeam Stone Circle

06. The Solitaire

07. Towards The Shores

08. Pagan Revolution

09. Grandier’s Funeral Pyre

10. Twilight Of Magic

11. Black Roses For The Wicked One

12. Witches Gather


I’ll always have a soft spot for Elvenking, as they were one of the first Folk Metal bands I discovered when I first got into the genre. They have always been one of those bands that I listen to every now and then, but not all the time, as their usual stuff gets very predictable. However, I feel this album marks a new beginning for Elvenking. There is immense improvement in their musical skills and this album honestly blew me away. It does not happen very often that I can listen to an entire album on repeat for hours without skipping a single song, but this album is one of these. Elvenking’s sound has matured a considerable amount over the past few albums. Their catchy melodies and lyrics about witches, rituals and magick had me ensnared from the first song. With this album they have moved away from their alternative sound and incorporated more Folk metal. Keep in mind though that Elvenking is known for their cheeseyness when it comes to melodies, but I actually love this part of their sound. The best way I can think to describe the album as a whole is the theatrical sound of Avantasia meets the folk melodies of Eluveitie.

Choosing a favourite track was next to impossible, because there is not one song on the album that I don’t adore, but I think it’s between Black Roses For The Wicked One or Witches Gather. The album also includes 3 beautiful instrumental tracks, of which Amethyst is definitely my favourite.

This album is a great listen and I’d highly recommend it to any Folk metal fan, or even to those who are unfamiliar with the genre.


Rating 4 Star