Thrift Fair(s) Haul

Hello everyone!

 

I love thrifting because it’s an opportunity to get new additions to your wardrobe at an affordable price. I often find very nice items that become staples in my Gothic wardrobe.

Unfortunately in South Africa there aren’t many thrift stores and the ones we do have don’t have a large variety of clothing. This weekend I was so excited that there were TWO thrift fairs happening, organised by different people. I went with my friend from Clarens, who is visiting Pretoria for a while!

13709886_10154336147292008_4724967976446467001_n

I got some really awesome things from both of them, so here are the things I got! Sorry for the poor quality photos. It’s very dark in my apartment and raining outside, so this is the best I could do.

 

The Harvest Thrift Fair at +27 Cafe – Saturday 23rd July

This thrift fair had free entry and was made up of different thrifty sellers selling their goods. I only bought items from two sellers – Backyard Vintage and Wear It Again. Here’s what I got!

IMG_20160726_102714

Black top with ruffles and sheer sleeves. From Wear It Again.

IMG_20160726_102809

Black velvet crop jacket. From Wear It Again.

IMG_20160726_102639

Green sheer top with ruffles, buttons and bows! From Backyard Vintage.

IMG_20160726_102836

Long-sleeved velvet top. From Backyard Vintage.

And my favourite find for the day…

IMG_20160726_102537

El Dante’s platform boots! They have to be glued in a few places and will be dyed and painted black. From Backyard Vintage.

 

The Thrift Fair at Fort Schanskop, Voortrekker Monument – Sunday 24th July

This one did not feature different sellers. Instead, they had all the items together in a hall on railings, tables and other displays. I found that the prices here were much more reasonable in general. Here’s what I got!

IMG_20160726_102741

Black lace top with ruffle and button detail.

IMG_20160726_103311

Zip up top. This kind of reminds me of a military look and it is going to be customised with zippers and spikes.

IMG_20160726_102610

Black cowboy boots! I have no idea what I’m going to wear these with yet but I think they will look cool.

I also got this dress that I will be using for a shoot! As you can see, I have started removing the golden flower pattern so that the dress is more to my liking (I’m not a fan of gold). I haven’t decided exactly what I am going to shoot with this yet, but it will be something awesome 😉

IMG_20160726_102502

 

I’m also currently selling some of my clothes here, if you are interested!

 

Thanks for reading!

 

 

J

xx

One comment on “Thrift Fair(s) Haul

  1. Those platform boots! 💕 I die. So good.

Leave a Reply

