A Lovely Weekend In Clarens

Hello everyone! It’s been a while since I posted anything other than my show playlists.

This weekend I went to Clarens! My parents were competing in the Ashburton Investments National MTB Series #3 and I decided to go along to get away from the city for a while. Sadly I didn’t take many photos this weekend, but I’ll share what I have!

 

We stayed at Kiara Lodge in a beautiful unit with an even more beautiful view of the mountains. When we arrived on Friday the sun was just about to set.

20160415_175234

That evening we had dinner at the Kiara Lodge restaurant – The Trout & Mallard. I had the pork medallions in a maple and mushroom sauce with a baked potato with sour cream, creamed beans and pumpkin. The maple and mushroom sauce was to die for and perfectly complimented the pork. I’ll definitely try to make my own maple and mushroom sauce sometime!

20160415_203855

On Saturday I met this lovely lady! Well, actually we had met before sometime last year but I didn’t recognise her! She owns a cute little shop called Daydream, where she sells wigs and handmade jewellery and accessories. We spent some of the day together and the rest of the day I spent walking around and shopping with my mother.

IMG_20160416_143830

I didn’t get around to many shops that day, but I managed to get these coats for an absolute steal at The Jacket Shop! The photo isn’t very clear, but the large coat is a dark green with beautiful embroidered fastenings. The fluffy crop jacket and the leather vest are for cosplays (my boyfriend and I will be vikings at GeekFest). I love how the fluffy crop jacket looks on me though and definitely won’t be limiting it to cosplay.

20160416_152624

On Sunday we had to be up early to be at the race area by 7am. We had breakfast in the VIP tent and then I explored the rest of the town. Later my brother and I went to Clarens Brewery to try some of their beers. They give these taster trays for free! I really enjoyed the stout and the red ale, but decided to go with my favourite – the mixed berry cider.

20160417_110111

Later my brother left and my new friend joined me again! This time dressed more “normal” – she dresses up every single day! We had a few drinks before I had to leave. I wish I could have stayed longer because Clarens is such a lovely town, but at least I met some awesome people!

IMG-20160417-WA0019

 

 

 

J

xx

One comment on “A Lovely Weekend In Clarens

  1. […] in Clarens and we did our first photoshoot. You may recognise the lovely lady on my left from my A Lovely Weekend In Clarens post. She was nice enough to let us stay at her house while we were there and of course we […]

Leave a Reply

