Finding Myself

I find it interesting how much people can change in just a couple of years. The other day, I was thinking about how I was in high school and laughed at my stupid fashion choices, music taste and how I tried to impress people. It’s amazing how you grow and find yourself. For some people it takes longer than others. I only found my true identity a few years ago around age 19-20. Before that I thought I knew who I was but it always felt like something was missing. Growing up, I jumped between being a tomboy and a girly girl. For most of my teen years, I followed the emo kid route. I was trying to find who I am and one day it found me. I had found what I had been searching for my whole life. I didn’t need to label myself or follow a specific lifestyle to fit in anymore, I could like what I like and not be ashamed. It took a while to be comfortable with who I am and not hide behind a mask or identity that people try to give me, but now I am me – who I have always been inside and who I’ve always wanted to be on the outside. Never be ashamed of who you are and never try to be something you’re not just to impress people. Be you.

 

And now, just for shits and giggles, here are some of my looks through the years. Try not to laugh too much. Enjoy!

The “trying to save the world” phase. I went by names such as Tree Hugger, Hippie, Earthlover, etc and was an animal rights activist and vegetarian for over a year.

The “I hate the world” phase

The emo phase *cringe*

The colourful emo stage

My “baby bat” phase

And last but not least, the most recent photo of me

 

I hope you enjoyed this little post. I am going to try to post more frequently from now on!

 

J

xx

 

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged .

One comment on “Finding Myself

  1. wolfworx says:

    Well they do say life’s a journey right ? What will happen in the next 20 years 🙂

Leave a Reply

